I’ve been asked by Foodie Blogroll to test out and review a new website that helps you keep track of your favorite restaurants. So I signed up for Smorgie.com and have been playing around with adding some places to a few lists. Perhaps I’m not the target audience for this type of website because I rarely go out to eat and when I do it’s when I’m traveling. With that being said I think that Smorgie will be a great place to research new restaurants for when I travel to new places. There are several “road warriors” in my office who always have the scoop on the best places to eat and I would love to see their lists on Smorgie. The best thing about the Smorgie idea is that I’d be able to connect with friends for their suggestions rather than reading random reviews on other websites. I definitely take online reviews with a grain of salt because you never know if a bad review is written by someone having a really bad day or if the great reviews are by people who are too easy to please. With Smorgie, you’d know who’s making the suggestions and you can match up your tastes with those people.

Smorgie.com is currently a beta site so they’ve also asked for some feedback and suggestions on their site. I would personally make some changes if I were part of the team developing the Smorgie.

  1. Make the searches more comprehensive. Currently you can’t do an open search within a specific city or town. I would want to be able to search for all the restaurants somewhere before I travel there.
  2. Show all the Smorgie users who have added the same restaurants as you. Maybe you’d be able to use that to follow someone who has similar tastes.
  3. Add some more visuals to the listings. I’d like to be able to upload a photo of a great meal and add notes with suggestions on the menu.
  4. Automatically add the restaurant’s website to your listing.

Now that you’ve heard about it from me… go check it out. Smorgie.com – Make and Share lists of Yummy

I’d like to know what you think about it too and if you choose to try it out. It’s so new that it needs more people using it before it can really be great.

Disclaimer: This sponsorship is brought to you by Smorgie.com who I have partnered with for this promotion.

