This post is mostly to prove that we don’t eat cookies all day long around here. Though it seems like it sometimes. After the holiday feasting, I made a deal with the kids. If the three of us can have a fruit or a vegetable for our afternoon snack after school for 20 times, then I would take them to play mini-golf at the mall.  I’m keeping track on the calendar and so far this month we’ve done it 5 times. Much less than I’d hoped for at this point but some of it is because one of us has a fruit or vegetable and the others don’t. Too often the afternoon snack is whatever anyone can grab that’s readily available. The big glass jar on the counter full of cookies is much too tempting most times.

These celery sticks were my attempt at introducing some vegetables into our deal. The snacks are heavily skewed towards apples and pears at this point. One of my best techniques in getting my son to try a new food combination is to make it for myself and then tell him that it’s only for me and that he can’t have any. This does not work on my daughter who is much too wise for her own good sometimes but my son always gets a mischievous look in his eye and snatches whatever I have for himself.

“Bugs on a Log” Celery

  • celery sticks
  • peanut butter
  • yogurt-covered raisins (or chocolate-covered raisins)

Spread peanut butter over celery sticks , garnish with raisins and serve immediately. So easy!

The verdict on this recipe was mixed. My son started out liking them but after a little while needed to spit out some of it. It was definitely the peanut butter stuck to the roof of his mouth phenomena. I will make this again someday soon and cut back on the peanut butter and use chocolate-covered raisins instead.

This deal is all part of a bigger plan to get us eating 5 servings of fruit or vegetables every day. It would be too shocking for my family to just jump right into that plan so this is the start. Hopefully, once the CSA starts up again this spring our appetites will be ready to consume that delicious produce every day.

