As a food blogger you develop a thick skin fairly quickly if you choose to submit photos to any of the food photo gallery web sites. I was pretty lucky to have one of my first submissions accepted to foodgawker but have had so many rejections since then. At first it was frustrating but I know that there are too many variables to guarantee that your photo gets accepted. I often recite, “nobody likes me… everybody hates me… now I’ll go eat some worms,” (in my head of course) when I discover that my photos have been rejected again. I’ll keep submitting photos if only for the sake of perseverance.

Imagine how surprised I was to discover a box on my front step from California Endive just because I’m a food blogger. I felt the love immediately upon opening the box. Inside was a bouquet of endive tied up with a red ribbon and a lovely letter. What a cool promotion! It was perfect for me because I’d never tried endive before. I was surprised again when I prepared a simple recipe from the California Endive website and it was a little bit nutty, crisp and quite delicious. In fact, it was meant to be a side dish for dinner but I stood in my kitchen and ate it all straight from the pan.

Roasted Endive

(from Discover Endive)

  • 2 heads of endive (for 1 serving)
  • cold butter, about 1 Tbsp cut into tiny cubes
  • kosher salt

Separate the endive leaves and place curve-side up in a single layer on a baking sheet. Dab a tiny cube of butter into each leaf and sprinkle with salt.  Bake at 400° F for 10 minutes. The leaves with shrink slightly and the edges will be a crispy golden brown. Serve immediately.

I made this recipe several times with my Endive Surprise and each time it was delicious. I also made some chicken soup with endive and I’ll share that recipe in the near future. I rate this recipe  5 stars for ease and deliciousness.

