Husband frequently asks me over the weekend, “So, what are you going to make for me?” and I bristle at the way he asks but will usually bake some dessert for him. He’s maddeningly thin no matter what he eats. On those days when I reply with a snide remark like, “What are you going to make for yourself?” he bakes something like these cinnamon rolls. I certainly appreciate that he can fend for himself but I can’t be in the kitchen at the same time without providing my input on the way he bakes. Best thing for both of us is if I just go and find someplace else to be.

This recipe is from my sister-in-law. The same one who makes the best carrot cake in the world.

Cinnamon Rolls

  • 8 cups flour
  • 5 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 2/3 cups shortening
  • 2 2/3 cups milk
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/4 cups brown sugar
  • 3-6 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup confectioners sugar
  • 2-3 Tbsp milk or water

Preheat oven to 400°F. In a large bowl combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Cut in shortening until the dough resembles pea-sized crumbs. Add 2 2/3 cups milk and mix until just combined. Turn out dough onto a floured surface and roll into a rectangle about 1/3″ thick. In a small bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar and cinnamon. Spread over the dough and roll into a log pinching the seam shut.

Cut cinnamon rolls into 1″-thick pieces and place onto a baking sheet. You can place them fairly close together. Bake for 20-25 minutes. While the cinnamon rolls are baking, mix together the confectioners sugar and milk to make a thin icing.  Remove cinnamon rolls from baking sheet immediately and place on wire racks with another baking sheet under it. Spoon the icing over the hot cinnamon rolls. Store up to 5 days in an airtight container at room temperature.

I actually prefer my mother’s version of cinnamon rolls but since I wasn’t the one doing the baking it doesn’t really matter to me. This recipe makes a lot of cinnamon rolls. We were letting the kids have them for breakfast because there were so many.

(Printable recipe for Cinnamon Rolls)

