My daughter thinks that the best part of the food at The Outback Steakhouse is the bread. My husband and I are partial to The Outback Steakhouse because he proposed to me at one in East Texas. I’m the first to admit it’s not the most romantic place in the world to get engaged but with our 15-year anniversary coming up next week I’ll also be the first to admit that it doesn’t really matter. Our journey together is more than just the first step. Okay, this is getting mushy and I’m going to bring this story back to the bread… the bread that my daughter requested. We all know that I can’t resist her requests.

Rye Wheat Bread

  • 2 1/2 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1/2 cup molasses
  • 1 Tbsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp oil
  • 2 cups rye flour
  • 2 1/2 -3 cups bread flour

In a large bowl dissolve yeast in 1/2 cup warm water. Stir in the sugar set aside for 6 minutes or until it’s bubbly. Add the 1 cup warm water, molasses, salt, oil and rye flour to the yeast mixture. Stir together until it becomes a smooth batter. Gradually add the bread flour mixing until the dough is smooth and no longer sticky. Knead the dough until pliable and elastic, about 8 minutes. Allow to rise covered in a greased bowl until it’s doubled, about 1 hour.

Punch the dough down and shape into 3 large round loaves. Placed the loaves a few inches apart on a greased and cornmeal dusted cookie sheet.

Sprinkle some of the cornmeal over the top of the loaves as well. Cover with a dish towel and let loaves rise in a warm place until doubled. Bake loaves at 375°F for about 30 minutes or until the crust makes hollow sound when tapped.

My family liked this bread quite a bit but it was not the same as the bread from The Outback. I had made this recipe once before using blackstrap molasses and it looked almost exactly the same as The Outback bread. But the taste of the blackstrap molasses was overwhelming and the bread was nearly inedible. Just make sure that you use regular molasses.

