One of the things that I love about blogging is the blogging community. Where else can you connect with people who care about the same things that you care about and get instant feedback on your thoughts and passions? You can read my blog and figure out fairly quickly that I care about the food that my family eats. Everyday interactions with people I see all the time rarely involve what we really care about. It’s always “How was your weekend?”, “What’s up for the weekend?” or “How are you?”…”Good”…”You?”…”Good.”

I do know about some of the hobbies that my co-workers do or activities they like but conversations don’t get much deeper than that.  Sometimes I feel like I’m stuck in a world of small talk. Not that there isn’t a time and a place for small talk. It’s a valuable skill for a dinner party or a conference. My favorite thing to do in a small talk situation is to ask lots of questions and then just listen because people like to talk about themselves.

You can learn a lot about people that way. Another easy thing to talk with people about is food. Everyone cares about food just a little bit whether they think about it or not. It’s part of our history, our best or worst memories, and our  future. Well made food is love. Shared food is a community.  Food is important and the more that we care about it, the better it will become.

I think that the holy grail of recipes is  macarons and I honestly didn’t know what they were before I started this blog. I assumed it was a typo for macaroons. If you’ve made them, you know that you are left with egg yolks that you can either toss or add to another recipe. This recipe is from “i ♥ macarons” by Hisako Ogita and is the perfect thing for those leftover egg yolks. I care about food so much that I hate to waste it.

Vanilla Pudding

(adapted from i ♥ macarons)

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1/8 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 6 Tbsp whipping cream
  • 6 Tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp liqueur (optional) – like Grand Marnier

Preheat oven to 300°F. In a small bowl mix together egg yolks and sugar until combined.

Add vanilla, whipping cream, milk and liqueur and stir until fully combined.

Spoon mixture into small custard bowls or ramekins. Put bowls into a large casserole dish and pour water around the bowls so that it reaches half way up the bowl.

Bake for about 40 minutes or until the mixture appears firm. Serve warm or chilled.

I rate this recipe  5 stars for its simplicity, taste and serving size. It is creamy and satisfying even though the serving size is quite small.

