How can something so simple bring such joy and satisfaction to my appetite? I am a huge proponent of the ideology of eating local but I am also extremely appreciative that we can get foods from around the world. If I only ate locally grown foods I’d not only need to ratchet up my non-existent food preserving efforts but I’d also be missing out on things like avocados and citrus fruits. Those foods just don’t grow in New England. So I practice thankfulness and savor my precious avocados because I’m having a hard time even eating the other produce available now at the store. A tomato trucked from Mexico just doesn’t taste like a tomato so instead I shun the fruit and vegetables that I’m eagerly awaiting from our local farms and I focus instead on avocados and citrus fruits.

A couple of months ago I picked up a bag of organic avocados from Trader Joe’s and became completely addicted to them. I’ve been buying some almost every week. My favorite thing to make is avocado toast for breakfast. It’s a piece of toast with half of an avocado in slices over the toast. I mash the avocado into the toast with a fork and then drizzle Frank’s Red Hot Sauce over it.  Yum! The first time I made that for breakfast my family looked at me like I had three heads.

My other favorite thing to do with avocado is to make a super-quick guacamole. Super-quick because it’s only got two ingredients! I love guacamole but there’s so much work involved in comparison to this. Also, I can have this version without my husband complaining that my breathe smells… another bonus.

Super-Quick Guacamole

  • 1 ripe avocado, pitted, peeled & mashed (if it’s not ripe enough to mash, just cut into bite-size pieces)
  • Frank’s Red Hot Sauce to taste (I think that I may be addicted to this sauce also.)

Place avocado into a small bowl and mix with the sauce. Eat with tortilla chips. Super quick, super easy, super healthy!

I’m lately in love with Laurel Hill Multi-Grain Tortilla chips. They are made in Massachusetts so I get Eat Local points for that.  ♥

I do plan to learn how to preserve fruit and vegetables from my CSA this summer. An adventure which I’m sure that I’ll share with you at some point.

