At our house calzones and pizza are pretty much interchangeable. We use the same ingredients for both so it all depends on my mood whether we have one or the other.  I’ve always had issues when making calzones because they leak when I’m baking them. So when I saw this technique on Pinterest I knew that I had to try it. Not just because it is pretty but because I thought it might be the solution to my leaky calzones.  And it was.  I can’t make them any other way now.

Feel free to use pizza dough from the supermarket to do this but you can always make your own dough if you’ve got some time to spare.

First, on a floured surface roll out your pizza dough into a long rectangle. Transfer to a baking sheet. Add your fillings (tomato sauce, cheese, pepperoni, veggies) down the middle of the dough. Using a set of kitchen scissors cut the dough into an equal number of strips on each side.

Now start folding the dough strips over each other across the filling alternating sides and overlapping the strips making it look like a braid. There is no need to seal the strips.

Bake at 400° F  for 20 minutes or until the dough is lightly browned.

The solution to a leaky calzone is the venting provided by the braids. And it’s really pretty. I already said that.  But that makes me happy. I even have my husband convinced that this is the best way.

