When I was a kid, I was the one responsible for making the salad dressing when we had company. We had company almost every weekend so I made salad dressing a lot. It was always an oil and vinegar base with whatever herbs and spices I felt like tossing in. I’d almost forgotten about how simple it is to make a salad dressing and had been relying on bottled dressings all together too much. This dressing was inspired from an Everyday Food baked chicken recipe that involved arugula and a lemon dressing poured over it. I’ve been making this dressing for almost every salad that I make lately. It works especially well with kale.

Lemon Pepper Salad Dressing

  • Juice from 1 lemon
  • 2-3 Tbsp olive oil (try for a 1:1 ratio on the lemon juice)
  • 1/4 tsp coarse salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground pepper

Place all the ingredients into a jar.

Put lid on jar and shake until the dressing mixes together. Pour over salad immediately.

This makes enough for about 4 servings. It will keep for about 4 days in the fridge. Just give it another shake before using.

I rate this recipe 5 stars. I used it in a kale salad that I made for a party and I was surprised when that salad was the one that everyone ate. The recipe for the chicken is really great too. My husband even approves of it and it has been added to the weekly menu rotation.

