I’ve never been able to justify the cost of buying tea from coffee shops. How easy is it to make tea? No special equipment is needed and you’ll pay up to $4.00 for a cup of tea. I can buy enough tea bags for 20 cups of tea for that same price. I drink a cup of chai tea every morning with breakfast and usually another couple of cups of green tea at work most of the year. In the summer, hot tea is not so appealing to me. So, I bring a cup of iced tea with me to work and it makes me happy. This flavor combination was put together on a lark and it makes me blissful.

Peppermint-Ginger Iced Tea

  • 1 teabag of peppermint tea (My favorite brand is Yogi Purely Peppermint.)
  • 1/2 inch fresh gingerroot, peeled
  • 2 cups boiling water

Place the teabag and the gingerroot into a large glass jar. Pour boiling water into the jar. Allow the tea to cool to room temperature and then chill in the fridge. When you are ready to enjoy a cup of iced tea, fill a glass with ice and pour the tea over it. Garnish with a slice of lime or sweeten if you prefer it that way (optional).

If you can plan ahead, this is a great way to ensure that you have delicious iced tea during the hot weather. My problem is that twice now I’ve made a lovely cup of iced tea to bring with me to work and then realize that I’ve left my cup at home. Talk about disappointment. I don’t recommend that.

