My husband has been asking me to make this recipe for many years. Every summer when we travel to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia he searches for these squares at the various bakeries that we visit with no success. Finally I asked my mother-in-law for a copy of the recipe. To my surprise this dessert is super easy to make. I’ve made it twice since we returned home from vacation. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with some tasty squares but I thought they were way too sweet. I made a few tweaks on the second pass on this recipe and I enjoyed them much more.

I’m not sure why these are called Oh Henry Squares since it’s nothing like the candy bar with the same name.

Oh Henry Squares

Ingredients:

  • 15 graham crackers, whole
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup flaked coconut, unsweetened
  • dash salt

Directions:

Line a 9×12 pan with graham crackers.

In a saucepan, mix together brown sugar, butter, milk and egg.

Bring to a boil, cook for 6-7 minutes or until slightly thickened stirring frequently.

Add graham cracker crumbs, vanilla, coconut and salt and combine.

Spread evenly over the graham crackers in pan. Allow to cool completely.

Frost with chocolate icing. (Recipe below.)

Keep chilled in the refrigerator. Cut into squares and enjoy!

 

Chocolate Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1-2 Tbsp milk

Cooking Directions:

Mix together all ingredients until smooth and spreadable. Add additional confectioner’s sugar or milk to adjust as necessary.

The photos included show the two different times that I’ve made this recipe. The first time was in a 8×8 square pan and the second time in a 9×12 pan. Using the square pan resulted in thicker layers and the perceived sweeter taste. By using the larger pan the ratio between the graham crackers and the other layers was more balanced and less tooth-achingly sweet.

The entire family tried this recipe and it was loved by all. I liked that it was a no-bake easy dessert. My daughter was nervous about the coconut but since I used a very finely shredded coconut she didn’t complain about it. Sometimes it’s all about texture isn’t it? We rate this recipe  5 stars.

