Strawberry Brownie Tart banner

Several weeks ago a friend had a scare with his two-year-old son. His son has a severe egg allergy and they think he was accidentally exposed to eggs at a catered party. Thankfully they had an epi-pen on hand but his little boy nearly died. I just can’t even imagine how terrifying that was. I’ve always been sensitive about food allergies (though we have none at our house) because they are so dangerous.

That is why I sought out this recipe to make for a barbecue at that friend’s place. In addition to the egg allergy his son also has a milk allergy. That ruled out all of my cookie recipes. No dairy and no eggs basically meant finding a vegan recipe. I don’t know much about the vegan diet but Kari at GI 365 mentioned that this recipe can be made vegan by using maple syrup as your sweetener instead of honey. I love that this recipe doesn’t use any refined sugar and that you don’t need to bake it. Perfect for the weather we are having currently. I can also see myself making this recipe with different berries, blueberries, raspberries or blackberries.

Strawberry Brownie Tart

(adapted from GI 365)

Crust:

  • 2 1/2 cups chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup honey (local honey if you can get it… trust me, it tastes so much better)

Filling:

  • 1 (14 oz.) can of coconut cream, refrigerated (I used the one from Trader Joe’s)
  • 1/4 cup honey

Topping:

  • Approximately 1 pint of strawberries, washed, hulled and sliced

First make the crust: Using a food processor, pulse the walnuts and cocoa powder until the walnuts are finely ground. We are going for an even mixture that starts to clump together but not so much that it resembles peanut butter. (If you don’t have a food processor, I would recommend substituting the walnuts for almond flour and stirring together with a spoon.)

Add honey and salt to the walnut mixture and pulse a few more times until a ball of dough starts rolling inside the machine. (This part is pretty magical if you ask me.)  Press the walnut dough into a tart pan and chill. (I have a tart pan with a removable bottom so I skipped the recommendation by Kari to sprinkle dry walnut mixture into the bottom of the pan and I didn’t have any problems with the tart sticking.)

Strawberry Brownie Tart 1Strawberry Brownie Tart 2

Now make the filling: Open the can of coconut cream and pour off any liquid in the can. Whip the remaining coconut cream and honey with a hand mixer until thick. This will take about 10 minutes or so. Spread the coconut cream into the prepared crust, cover with plastic wrap and chill in the refrigerator until you are ready to serve the tart.

Strawberry Brownie Tart 3Strawberry Brownie Tart 4

Add the topping: Before serving the tart, top with sliced strawberries.

Strawberry Brownie Tart final

This recipe was a huge hit at my house and at the barbecue. We did a test run prior to the party to make sure that is was good enough to share and my kids LOVED this tart. My daughter normally won’t eat anything with nuts but was asking for second helpings for this. I even allowed the kids to eat it for breakfast the next day since I figured it was healthy and low in sugar.

I was thrilled with the discovery of whipped coconut cream. It is so delicious that we are planning on using it for strawberry shortcake too.

Strawberry Brownie Tart

