Food Babe Cookies 1

I feel that I must explain myself… my absence from my blogs… it’s simple… real estate transactions consumed all of my energy over the last several months. I did not realize how nerve-wracking buying and selling a house could be. I watch HGTV and am a big fan of the Property Brothers and Love It or List It. That all seems so simple with some drama thrown in for good entertainment. I’ve decided that drama in real life is not fun. I won’t get into the nitty-gritty details of our transactions because I really don’t want to relive them but I’ll just say that I lost mountains worth of sleep over the last few months. It’s been two weeks since we have moved into the new house and I’ve finally started to feel settled. I’m back to blogging and promise to share lots of delicious recipes frequently from now on.

This recipe is an adaptation of one posted by Food Babe. These cookies got me through my stressful months without resorting to eating junk food. They are perfect for breakfast with a cup of tea or as a mid-morning snack at the office. I’ve adjusted the recipe several times depending on what ingredients I have on hand and I’ve been pleased with the results each time.

Food Babe’s Low Sugar Cookies

(adapted from Food Babe)

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/4 cup coconut palm sugar (find it in the health food section of the grocery store)
  • 2 tablespoon ground flaxseed mixed with 5 tablespoons water (or 1 egg)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup almond flour (I have also used coconut flour and oat flour as substitutes – almond flour is my favorite)
  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon (optional – I prefer without the cinnamon)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans
  • 1/2 cup dried cherries or cranberries
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips (optional)

In a large bowl, combine all the ingredients in order until evenly mixed. Chill dough in fridge or freezer for approximately 10 minutes. Preheat oven to 350° F. Place heaping tablespoons of dough onto a lined baking sheet. You will need to squeeze the dough together a little to ensure it stays together while baking. Bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown. Cool 1 minute on baking sheet before moving to cooling racks. Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

Food Babe Cookies 3

 Simple, healthy and delicious.

My kids were keen to try my first batch because they smelled wonderful with all the cinnamon. My son was the only one who tasted that batch and he thought there was too much cinnamon.

Food Babe Cookies 2

