perfect iced tea 1

Summer means iced tea for me and I like to bring a travel cup of iced tea to work with me rather than stopping somewhere to buy it. If you want the perfect glass of iced tea, you’ve got to plan ahead a little bit. Sometimes I forget and make this in the morning before heading to work thinking that I can just pour hot tea over ice and it’s not as good. A mason jar is a perfect brewing container because it’s made to withstand boiling water. For an individual serving use a 12 ounce size jar and for multiple servings use the large 24 ounce jar.

Perfect Iced Tea

  • 1 tea bag (any flavor – I’m partial to peppermint but any flavor will work.)
  • boiling water
  • mason jar with lid
  • ice cubes

Place the tea bag in the jar and pour boiling water over it. Seal the jar with the lid and allow to cool to room temperature. Once cooled, place in fridge to chill completely. Discard tea bag and then pour chilled tea over a glass filled with ice and enjoy!

perfect iced tea 2

perfect iced tea

My preference is unsweetened tea but if you need a little sweetness add some sugar or honey to the jar before you pour in the boiling water. It will dissolve easier and give you an evenly sweetened glass of iced tea.

