Cabbage Mango Slaw 1 (800x571)

Last week we hosted our extended family for taco night. If you need a menu for a diverse crowd, taco night is a way to please everyone. We’ve got anti-gluten, anti-meat, anti-veggies, anti-soy, anti-onion, anti-cheese and anti-spicy people in our family. Since tacos means assembling various ingredients the “anti” people can pick and choose what they want. I just lined up bowls with all the options and let everyone make their own tacos. Preparation couldn’t have been easier since I chopped everything in advance and had it all covered in the refrigerator. The only cooking I did after everyone arrived was frying up the ground beef and cooking some rice. It certainly made for a relaxing visit especially since we were drinking tequila sunrises most of the afternoon.

Husband always seems confounded when I try out a new recipe when we have company and I suppose that he’s right in a way. How else am I going to get input on new recipes when my kids and husband refuse to try them? The other recipes have not been hits like this recipe though. My mother-in-law promptly sat at my kitchen table and wrote out a copy of this recipe card for herself after dinner. I would say that’s a sign of some delicious food. Taco night was inspired by an article in the September issue of Cooking Light magazine and this recipe is from that article. I would recommend making a double-batch if you are serving more than 4 people.

Cabbage & Mango Slaw

(adapted from Cooking Light)

  • 3 cups thinly sliced Savoy cabbage

    Savoy Cabbage

    Savoy cabbage is a tender, crinkly cabbage with a milder taste than regular green or purple cabbage.

  • 1 cup ripe peeled julienne-cut mango
  • 1/2 cup thinly sliced red onion
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/8 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/2 jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced

Combine cabbage, mango, onion and jalapeno in a medium bowl.

Cabbage Mango Slaw 3 (800x590)

In a jar, shake together vinegar, oil, salt and pepper. Pour oil & vinegar mixture over slaw and toss to coat. Serve immediately or cover and refrigerate for 1-2 hours before serving. Serve as a side dish or on top of tacos.

Cabbage Mango Slaw 2 (800x548)

This morning while grocery shopping my daughter asked me, “Mom, do you blog anymore?” I can only use the excuse that I’m too busy for so long. If you really love doing something you find time to do it and that’s what I’m going to do. It got me thinking of a way to re-energize myself for blogging again and I came up with an idea. Starting this Tuesday (Why Tuesday? Because I like Tuesdays.) I will begin posting a feature I’m calling “What I Love This Week” and I’ll share something that I’m excited about. It will likely be something new I’m trying but it could also be an old favorite that tickles my fancy. I’d love your feedback so please make sure to comment.

