soft and chewy chocolate chip cookies 5

My son is in third grade this year and his teacher has implemented a weekly letter writing program. It involves a notebook where he writes a letter to us every Friday and over the course of the weekend I respond to his letter in the same notebook. Then I take the notebook and seal it in a baggy which he puts into his backpack. He gets to read the reply on Monday morning at school. His teacher says that reading the letters is a highlight of the week for the class. I promise that this story has something to do with cookies. I’m getting there.

soft and chewy chocolate chip cookies 1My son writes about his school day which is very interesting to read. In my first response I told him about my third grade teacher who was my favorite teacher. After that I sort of ran out of things to write so I filled some of the page with suggestions of activities for the weekend. One of those suggestions was that I teach him how to bake cookies. He was extremely enthusiastic about this so together we baked a batch of Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies from the Martha Stewart Cookies cookbook. Most of the work was done by my son which made him prouder than a peacock.

Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

(adapted from Martha Stewart Cookies)

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 package (10 oz.) semi-sweet mini chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350° F.  In a large bowl cream together the butter and the sugars. Add the salt, baking soda, vanilla and eggs and stir together until combined. Add the flour and stir again. (My son said this is hard part.) Add the chocolate chips and mix until evenly distributed in the dough.  Scoop heaping teaspoons of dough onto a lined baking sheet and bake one pan at a time for 10 – 12 minutes. The edges will be golden  but the centers will appear soft. Allow to cool for two minutes on the baking sheet before moving to wire racks to cool completely. Makes about 4 dozen cookies. Store in a sealed container at room temperature for up to 1 week, though these cookies lasted only 2 days at our house.

soft and chewy chocolate chip cookies 3This recipe originally has the typical instructions that involve whisking together the flour in a separate bowl but that part always bugs me. First why should I make another dirty dish and second it’s completely unnecessary. These cookies turned out perfectly well mixing together the ingredients as I’ve instructed above. While I had planned on teaching my son about reading a recipe and following instructions I couldn’t because we weren’t following the instructions this time. Instead we talked about how baking is all about science and math.

I needed to include my son’s favorite book in the photos because he talks about it almost constantly. Sometimes he will be telling us all a story at the dinner table and it starts getting weird and we ask, “Who did this at school?” to which he replies, “It’s from Wayside School.” It’s a little bit annoying at times but I’m thrilled that he’s so excited about a book.

