Low Sugar Cookies 2

I believe that I’m a stress eater. Lately I find myself grabbing cookies or chocolate when I’m hungry and immediately regret it. Regret is a terrible feeling, isn’t it? Food shouldn’t be something you regret. One of the reasons I regret eating some foods is that I know I will pay for it later. If I eat a lot of sugary things my joints ache more than usual. I can’t be sure of the relationship between the two and it certainly makes me feel old to wake up with a sore hip but if I can eliminate the pain by eliminating most of the sugar from my diet then it’s worth missing out on certain foods.

This recipe is adapted from the Food Babe’s Low Sugar Cookies, which I love but I find a little dry. These cookies are soft and fluffy because I added extra eggs and left out the oats.

Soft and Chewy Low Sugar Cookies

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted (30 seconds in microwave)
  • 1/2 cup coconut palm sugar
  • 2 tablespoons ground flaxseed mixed with 5 tablespoons water (allow to sit for 5 minutes)
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/3 cup chopped, dried apricots
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Mix dough by adding ingredients to a large bowl in the order listed and stir to combine after each couple of ingredients. Chill dough in fridge or freezer for 10 minutes.

Pre-heat oven to 350°F. Take heaping tablespoons of dough and shape into flattened 2-inch rounds on lined baking sheets. Bake for 13-15 minutes, rotating baking sheet halfway, until golden. Cool on pan 1 minute before removing to cool completely on racks.

Low Sugar Cookies 1

The chopped dried apricots were a last-minute inspiration that turned out wonderfully. They add some wholesome sweetness that I found rather satisfying. Next time I would add less chocolate but not remove it all together.

It’s interesting which foods can cause inflammation like fried and processed foods and refined sugars (no real surprise there). But troubling that the articles seem to always mention arthritis which makes me feel old yet again.  You can’t believe everything you read on the internet either because I found lists of foods that cause inflammation that includes dairy but lists of foods that fight inflammation that includes dairy as well. Also, it’s difficult to generalize since one thing might be fine for one person but problematic for the next. You’ve got to do what works for you.

 

