Chocolate Mousse Torte 2

First I want to establish that I am personally not a fan of whipped topping because of the artificialness of it. It’s one of the main ingredients in this recipe, that’s why I’m giving this disclaimer up front. My family however thinks that Cool Whip is Kraft’s gift to dessert. My daughter once bought herself a container of it to eat by itself. I’m sharing this recipe because it turned out well but I’m hoping to try it again at some point with real whipped cream. I will admit that this was a fun recipe to make and that it certainly is pretty. My husband’s feedback was that I should have put more raspberries on top.

Chocolate Mousse Torte

(adapted from Kraft Foods)

  • 37 Nilla wafers, divided
  • 3 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate
  • 2 packages (3.9 oz. each) of instant chocolate pudding
  • 2 cups plus 2 tablespoons cold milk
  • 1 tub (8 oz.) whipped topping, thawed, divided
  • 1 package (8 oz.) cream cheese, softened to room temperature
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup fresh raspberries
  • chocolate shavings for garnish (Take a vegetable peeler to a room temperature chocolate bar.)
  • Equipment needed: 9-inch round pan lined with plastic wrap

Stand 16 wafers around the inside of the prepared pan and set aside. In a microwavable measuring cup, heat the chocolate for 30 second intervals stirring in between until fully melted. Should take about 90 seconds in total. In a medium bowl whisk together the pudding mixes and 2 cups of milk. Add the melted chocolate; mix well. Stir in 1 cup of whipped topping then pour into the prepared pan. (The darn wafers kept falling over so if someone has an idea on how to keep them straight, I’m all ears.)

In another clean bowl, beat together the cream cheese, sugar and remaining milk until well blended. Stir in 1 cup of whipped topping then spread over the pudding layer in the pan. Top with remaining wafers. (Those wafers end up being the bottom crust.) Refrigerate 3 hours.

Chocolate Mousse Torte 4

Invert torte onto a plate. Remove pan and plastic wrap. Top torte with remaining whipped topping, raspberries and chocolate shaving. Keep chilled until ready to serve.

Chocolate Mousse Torte 1

I had ripped this recipe from a magazine years ago and found it folded up in my recipe box. It’s really an advertisement for Kraft food products but I was drawn in by the headline that said ” ‘Twas the night to remember.” It was an easy recipe and I enjoyed serving it to our guests for dessert.

 

 

