Cocoa Nut Winners 4

This cookie recipe helps me out during those harried holidays because it’s one that I can make in advance, throw the dough in the freezer and then slice and bake when I need some fresh cookies. Also, it’s perfect for those cookie swap parties because it makes a ton of cookies. My recipe card says “makes 13 dozen” which seems like hyperbole because I ended up with about 6 dozen cookies, but my cookies were bigger than 1-inch.

My husband likes them for the walnuts and because they are not too chocolaty. I think the recipe is aptly named because these are definitely winners.

Cocoa Nut Winners

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2 cups brown sugar, packed
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

In a large mixing bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Add vanilla and eggs and stir together. Add dry ingredients except for the walnuts and stir together to combine. This is where you’ll get some muscles because the dough will be fairly stiff. Stir in the walnuts. Divide dough into six 8-inch by 1-inch rolls and wrap in parchment paper or wax paper. Place dough in freezer overnight or for up to one month. When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350°F. Slice dough with a sharp knife into 1/4-inch slices and place on a lined baking sheet. I use Silpat liners. Bake for 8-10 minutes.

The cookies will puff up in the oven but settle down once they’ve cooled. For a chewier cookie bake only 8 minutes and allow to cool on the baking sheet for 2 minutes before transferring to a rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container for up to one week.

Cocoa Nut Winners 1

These are sturdy cookies which are great for shipping. In fact the cookies in the photos are on their way to my brother in Illinois right now.

