homemade chocolate 1

It’s a new year and for the first time I actually made a couple of resolutions. One resolution was to stop eating refined sugar for the month of January. It’s been good but the most difficult part has been not having chocolate. For the most part I’ve been able to redirect my chocolate cravings by having a cup of tea but by the end of last week I seriously needed something chocolate. So, I found this quick and easy recipe for making a dark chocolate that satisfied my craving without any refined sugar.

Homemade Chocolate

(adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie)

  • homemade chocolate 31/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 4 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 3 tablespoons maple syrup

Using a glass 1-cup measuring cup melt the coconut oil in the microwave 30-45 seconds. Add the maple syrup and stir, then add the cocoa powder and stir until completely combined. Spoon into a plastic container, smack the container against a hard surface to ensure that it’s evenly distributed, cover and place in freezer for 30 minutes.

Break into pieces and enjoy straight from the freezer. Store in freezer.

chocolate peanut butter 1

After I first tried this I immediately thought that this would be great paired with peanut butter. I had a jar of peanut butter with about half a cup of peanut remaining so I made another batch and poured the chocolate straight into the jar and stirred it up. I’ve been spreading my chocolate peanut butter on toast in the morning and it’s so yummy.

 

