Lemon noodles

I held onto this recipe from a co-worker for nearly a year before I worked up the courage to try it out. Seems weird from a person who writes a blog called “Try It You Might Like It,” right? For one thing it was missing measurements for the ingredients. I think that might be the sign of a really great cook. The other thing was that I needed to research some of the ingredients because I didn’t know them. That’s what Google is for. Even with my guesswork on the quantities for ingredients this recipe turned out very close to how I remember it tasting from the many potluck lunches where I indulged in this delicious dish. My research discovered that this is a South Indian dish, which makes sense because my co-worker is from India.

Lemon Noodles

  • 1 1/2 (7 oz.) packages of rice vermicelli
  • 1/2 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice (2-3 medium lemons)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons turmeric powder
  • 3 teaspoons oil
  • 2 teaspoons mustard seeds
  • 1 teaspoon green chili paste
  • 2 teaspoons chana dal (split black grams)
  • 3 tablespoons fresh cilantro leaves
  • 1/4 cup cashews or peanuts

Boil a large pot of salted water. Add rice vermicelli to the boiling water, stir and cook for 3-4 minutes. Drain noodles through a strainer and set aside. Meanwhile combine the lemon juice and the turmeric powder in a small bowl and set aside. Using the same pan that you boiled the noodles in (because I hate doing dishes) heat the oil over medium heat then add the mustard seeds. When seeds start to pop add the chana dal and cook for one more minute. Remove from heat and carefully stir in green chili paste and the lemon mixture. The oil will splutter a lot here. Add the drained noodles to the pot and toss to combine thoroughly. If you purchased the long rice vermicelli, fear not, the noodles will break into smaller pieces when you stir it together.

If you are enjoying right away serve garnished with cilantro and cashews. If you are planning to serve later, transfer the noodles to a casserole dish cover and chill in the fridge. Warm in the oven 15-20 minutes at 350°F and garnish with cilantro and cashews after it has been reheated. Leftovers can be refrigerated and reheated in the microwave.

Lemon noodles

I love how the noodles are such a beautiful bright yellow and how the lemon mingles with the cilantro for an even brighter taste sensation. I could eat this every day and not get tired of it.

Lemon noodles

This can also be made with rice but I’m dreaming of trying it out with quinoa as a variation. I’ll let you know how that turns out.

