Lately I’ve been repeating a silly mantra in my head whenever I’m hungry throughout the day. My mantra is “Eat more vegetables” and this soup is a delicious way to do that. Soup is always filling for me so that means I’m not searching for snacks between meals. I have been thoroughly enjoying this soup everyday since I made it on Saturday. Still no one else will eat my homemade soups and they even complained that it made the house smell. Too bad for them but I’ll keep making soup no matter how they complain.

Wild Rice and Mushroom Soup with Chicken

(adapted from Cooking Light, October 2010 issue)

  • 4 cups fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth, divided
  • 3/4 cup quick-cooking wild rice
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 shallots, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper
  • 1/3 cup matchstick-cut carrots
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 8 oz. package pre-sliced baby bella mushrooms (cremini)
  • 2 cups shredded rotisserie chicken breast
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • 2 cups water

Bring 1 1/3 cups broth to a boil in a medium saucepan; add rice to pan. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 15 minutes or until liquid is absorbed. Set aside.

Heat oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Add shallots, red bell pepper, carrots, and thyme; sauté 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in butter and mushrooms; sauté 3 minutes or until lightly browned. Add remaining 2 2/3 cups chicken broth, rice, chicken, salt, pepper, and water. Cook until thoroughly heated stirring occasionally.

Soup for breakfast? Definitely. Soup for lunch? Absolutely. Soup for an afternoon snack? Yes. Soup for everything!

The original recipe called for chopped onion and minced garlic but I substituted with shallots because I had two that needed to be used. I’m glad that I made the change because I think that the garlic would have overpowered this soup.

