Maybe you’ve noticed that we like to make Chinese Food at home. This recipe has a story with it that you might think is sad but I choose to look at the bright side. I found this recipe 10 years ago in a doctor’s office waiting room. My husband had just been diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Disease and we were waiting to speak with the first of two oncologists. As we waited I flipped through some magazine and saw a recipe called Sesame Turkey Nuggets. It looked good so I asked the person at the front desk for a piece of paper (he gave me a slip of paper printed with a cancer medicine across the top) and copied the recipe down while we waited. I suppose the recipe took my mind off all the worries of the time. What to know the bright side? My husband is 10 years cancer-free and we’ve got this fantastic recipe that never fails to impress.  We’ve changed the turkey to chicken and the nuggets to full pieces of chicken. It works just as well with nuggets but it’s not as fast when you are cooking the chicken.

Sesame Chicken

Marinade:

  • 2 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp. minced garlic (I use less)
  • 1 tsp. grated fresh ginger

Main ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 lbs. of boneless chicken breast (I use thin-sliced)
  • 1 Tbsp. cornstarch
  • Sesame seeds
  • 2 Tbsp vegetable oil

Dipping Sauce:

  • 1 (12 oz.) jar of pineapple preserves (This is sometimes hard to find at the store so when I see it I stock up for this recipe.)
  • 2 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp. white vinegar
  1. Combine all marinade ingredients in container with chicken. Toss to coat. Cover and refrigerate for 20 minutes (can be made up to 24 hours in advance.)
  2. When ready to cook, stir corn starch into chicken mixture. Heat oil over medium heat in a non-stick frying pan.
  3. Sprinkle each piece of chicken with sesame seeds and cook in frying pan with oil.
  4. To make sauce, combine all ingredients except vinegar in a microwaveable bowl. Microwave on high for 2 minutes then stir in vinegar.
  5. Spoon sauce over chicken on plates and serve with white rice and broccoli.

Draining the chicken on paper towels.

Pineapple Soy Dipping Sauce

This doesn't look very appetizing but trust me it is delicious!

