Today is my birthday and since I took the day off I had time this morning to make myself a special breakfast. My son requested these muffins last week so I had all the ingredients ready. These muffins are our favorite. As my son stood next to me on his stool while I mixed up the batter we discussed how he likes zucchini but only in muffins. I think that is good progress towards him understanding that just because he might not like something prepared one way that he might like it if prepared in a different way. This conversation with my son was inspired by a post I read on Food with Kid Appeal. It really got me thinking about how the way we talk about food could prejudice us against certain foods for a very long time. Like how cooked peas would make me gag as a child and I generally avoid peas but it’s very possible that it was the way the peas were prepared and not necessarily the peas. The difference is between saying “I don’t like peas” and “I didn’t like peas when I was a kid” or “I don’t like boiled frozen peas.” Next week I’ll be looking for a recipe with peas to get me past that childhood aversion and I’ll also be explaining all this to the kids while I do it. Now on to the recipe… this is adapted from a cookbook I received as a wedding gift called “Muffin Mania” and I’ve changed the recipe to include applesauce instead of a cup of oil.

Zucchini Muffins (adapted from Muffin Mania)

Into a large bowl mix:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp. ginger
  • 1/8 tsp. allspice
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

Stir in:

  • 2 cups grated zucchini
  • 1 apple peeled, cored and grated

    The batter should look like this before you add the egg/oil/applesauce mixture.

In another bowl, beat:

  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1/2 cup oil (vegetable or canola)

Stir into flour mixture until batter is just combined. Spoon into well greased muffin cups, filled to the top. (Note: If you are using muffin liners you need to spray with cooking spray to prevent the muffins from sticking to the paper.)

Bake at 350° for 20 minutes.

The kids LOVE these muffins.