I have exactly one photo of this recipe because we got home from work late last Tuesday and had to make this dinner very quickly. I had picked up my car from the shop and then rushed home to make dinner. This meal was on the table in less than 30 minutes. The car troubles is another story that ends with me shopping for a new car this week. But you all don’t really want to know about cars do you?

I’ve been wanting to make Pulled Pork for quite a while.  Our dinners are usually chicken or beef and that is getting pretty boring.  This recipe is one that I pulled out of the November 2009 issue of Cooking Light. It  actually called for chicken but after consultation with my husband I decided to make it with pork.

I would make this again but adjust the spices. Husband thought that the combination was a little weird. I liked it and especially topped with dill pickle slices from Trader Joe’s. I was thrilled to find that their pickles didn’t have any added color or alum. It is nice to add something quick and easy to our weekly meal plans. Neither of the kids tried this. My daughter was rather grossed out by the idea and had been complaining for several days about Pulled Pork being on the menu for the week.

Black Pepper and Molasses Pulled Pork Sandwiches (adapted from Cooking Light)

  • 3 Tbsp ketchup
  • 1 Tbsp cider vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp prepared mustard
  • 1 Tbsp molasses
  • 3/4 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground pepper
  • 1/8 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 lb pork tenderloin, cut into 2-inch pieces
  • 4 sandwich rolls, cut in half horizontally
  • dill pickle slices

Combine first 9 ingredients in a medium saucepan; bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low; cover and cook, stirring occasionally, 23 minutes or until pork is done and tender. Remove from heat; shred pork with 2 forks to measure 2 cups meat. Add shredded pork back to saucepan and mix with sauce. Spoon 1/2 cup pork on bottom half of each roll. Top with pickles and top half of roll.

I took this for lunch the next day at work and I had several comments about how good it looked.

