I bought some more Rainier Cherries after I got a suggestion from one of my reader’s, Paula, to make something called Bublanina with my other cherries. It is a recipe from her home in Czech Republic. It is a light and fluffy dessert that is really very simple to make.

“Bublanina”

  • 4 eggs
  • 6 tbsp icing sugar
  • 4 tbsp flour
  • 2+ cups sweet cherries, washed and pitted

Separate egg whites and reserve egg yolks. Beat egg whites till almost stiff, then add yolks one by one alternating with sugar – keep mixing. Then add flour in tablespoon at the time and gently fold it in by hand. Pour batter into shallow baking dish (greased & floured) and add as many cherries as you can fit on in one layer. Bake at 350 F till golden brown. Let it cool, Enjoy!!!

One of my favorite colors is egg yolks.

I was a little anxious about over beating the eggs since I wasn't certain what almost stiff egg whites look like.

The batter will be a beautiful light golden color.

The cherries sink into the batter and displace it. I gave it a little shake to even it out before I popped it in the oven.

I baked the Bublanina for about 20 minutes but I think it should have been longer because the middle was a little soupy.

Thank you Paula for the delicious recipe! I will definitely make this again.