This recipe is from Baker Bettie. I’m in awe of her mad photography skills. Plus she got this thing on her blog about how cookies are the new cupcake, which I totally agree with. I never really jumped on the cupcake bandwagon. Cookies are near and dear to my heart. A few years into our marriage Husband was diagnosed and treated for Hodgkin’s Disease and cookies were one of my coping mechanisms for the bi-weekly visits to Dana Farber Cancer Center for his doses of chemotherapy. Here’s where you picture me sitting next to Husband with a pile of cookies and stuffing my face while he’s getting pumped full of deadly chemicals. I suppose that may be a coping mechanism for some people but that’s not what I did. I baked cookies but instead of eating them I shared them with the hospital staff. It was so fun to see them excited to see us when we really weren’t that happy to be there. Husband had such good humor about that miserable experience. He really was hilarious and for that I’ll always see him as a superhero.

Flourless Chocolate Cookies

(adapted from Baker Bettie)

  • 2 1/4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 cup dutch processed cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 4 egg whites

Whisk together the dry ingredients. Mix in egg whites one at a time until fully incorporated. Chill dough in the refrigerator for at least 1 hour. Preheat oven to 350°F. Spoon teaspoon-fulls of dough onto a parchment lined baking sheet. You might want to spray with a little oil to help the cookie release from the paper. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until the cookies are slightly crackled. Do not overbake because the edges will burn. Cool the cookies completely on the baking sheet. For variety, add chopped nuts or Heath crunch pieces before baking.  Store in a sealed container at room temperature.

About these cookies… I had high hopes because I already love this recipe for Flourless Chocolate Cupcakes.  These were baked while the kids were getting ready for bed and they were so excited to try them the next day. My daughter took one bite and that was it. She said that she was they were too chocolatey. My son was the one who ate most of the cookies because I kind of agreed with my daughter. Just a little too chocolatey and I love dark chocolate. Not that I didn’t eat these cookies but I can’t say that I enjoyed them as much as my son did. He ate them dipped into with large cups of milk.

I’m going to admit something to you all… I don’t have a sweet tooth. For real! I know that you don’t believe me because of all the sweet recipes that I post on here. But it’s true… I’m much more inclined to savory snacks like potato chips or popcorn.  These cookies were gorgeous though but I don’t think that I’ll make them again.