I’ve been wanting to make this recipe from the Everyday Food Fresh Flavor Fast cookbook since I got the book. This afternoon I gave it a try and honestly it did not turn out as I had hoped. It is a delicious recipe but I don’t think that I’ll make it again. If I were to make it again I would use a non-stick frying pan. I did the last two pancakes in a ceramic non-stick because my second batch was pretty much scrambled sweet potatoes. The pancakes were really greasy and I know that they were indeed fried in oil but I might try brushing with a little oil and then baking them instead. The first few that I tasted were really good but after a couple of bites the greasiness gave me a belly ache. It really is so much easier to bake some sweet potato wedges to satisfy a craving for sweet potatoes. By the way sweet potatoes were something that I would never eat as a child but it was more of a texture thing than the taste. I love sweet potatoes now.

Check out this recipe over at Full Time Foodie for Sweet Potato Cakes with Mango Pineapple Chutney. She did such a beautiful job.

Sweet Potato Pancakes

  • 1 lb sweet potatoes, peeled
  • 3 scallions, trimmed and finely chopped
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil (I used canola oil.)
  • Sour cream, for serving (optional)

Coarsely grate sweet potatoes on the large holes of a box grater (or use a food processer fitted fitted with the shredding blade.) Transfer to a large bowl; stir in scallions, eggs, flour, 1 teaspoon salt, and 1/2 teaspoon pepper.

Using a packed 1/4-cup measure per pancake, divide the potato mixture into 12 portions, placing them on a baking sheet. Form each into a firm ball with your hands, then flatten into 3/4-inch-thick cakes.

Frying the pancakes.

In a large skillet, heat oil over medium until shimmering. Using a metal spatula, carefully place 6 pancakes in skillet; flatten to about 1/2 inch thick. Cook until golden brown, 4 to 5 minutes per side. Transfer pancakes to a paper towel-lined platter; sprinkle with salt. Repeat with remaining cakes. Serve hot, with sour cream alongside, if desired.

These were tasty but not worth the trouble I think.

