This has changed my daughter’s opinion of pancakes forever. She has barely tolerated our weekly pancake dinners on Friday night during her seven years. Recently she has started looking forward to them a little more now that she’s decided to try syrup. My husband insists on Vermont Maid syrup which is what my daughter also likes. I can’t stand that stuff. I must have pure maple syrup preferably from Canada.

Tonight I made these cinnamon swirl pancakes and my daughter was very interested. She asked to try a bite of mine before I made her pancakes and she liked it. Hooray! Her version was a star and she’s already planning what other shapes we’ll make next time.

Cinnamon Swirl Pancakes (inspired by Naturally Ella)

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tbsp white sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 Tbsp canola oil
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon

In a medium mixing bowl, stir together the flour, white sugar, baking powder, and salt. Make a well in the center of the dry mixture, set aside.

In another medium mixing bowl combined the egg, milk, and oil. Add egg mixture all at once to the dry mixture. Stir until just moistened (batter should be lumpy). Mix 1/4 cup of the batter in glass measuring cup with the brown sugar and the cinnamon. Put the cinnamon flavored batter into a squeeze bottle.

For standard-size pancakes, pour about 1/4 cup batter onto a hot, lightly greased griddle or heavy skillet. Immediately squirt a swirl of the cinnamon batter onto each pancake.

Cook over medium heat about 2 minutes each side or till pancakes are golden brown, turning to second side when pancakes have bubbly surfaces and edges are slightly dry. Serve warm with a dollop of butter and maple syrup.

These pancakes blew my mind. I can’t believe how simple a change vastly improved my pancake eating experience.