The Rock Lady of NorthboroughIt’s been almost three years since I’ve posted here. I’ve missed it! My focus has been elsewhere and this week I had the pleasure of running across some of my cookie recipes on Pinterest which inspired me to add a new post. My kids are older, 16 and 13, now and they have been trying new foods consistently.  I’ve been busy with a full-time job, self-publishing an adult coloring book, starting an Etsy shop, and selling my artwork at a local store. This blog still feels like home though and I’d love to share a recipe that I’ve made as a vegetarian staple over the summer months. I do not recall where I found this recipe and unfortunately I don’t have any photos.

Black Bean & Mushroom Burgers

Preheat oven to 375° F. Line a baking sheet with foil and coat lightly with cooking spray.

Using a mini-chopper or food processor, combine the following:

  • 1 Tbsp ground flax seed
  • 1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 oz. cremini mushrooms
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed (save some whole beans for texture)

Transfer the mixture to a large bowl and stir in the following:

  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1 garlic clove, minced (I use less)
  • 1/3 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • saved black beans

Shape mixture into patties and place on the prepared baking sheet. Bake patties for 25-30 minutes. Serve on hamburger buns with condiments. I like garnishing with sliced avocado.

avocado close up colors cut

Photo by Foodie Factor on Pexels.com

These patties freeze well. I try to keep some on hand for when my daughter’s vegetarian friend comes to visit. I find the mushrooms give a meaty texture that is quite satisfying.

I invite to check out my Etsy shop. Painting rocks has been my most recent passion project. If you know an INFJ like me you’ll know that we become obsessed with our passions. I have buckets of rocks from my favorite beaches and I try to paint some every day.

rainbow urchin rock 2