It was the day before Thanksgiving and I had the day off. Not a creature was stirring… because the kids were at school. What luxury to have the whole house to myself and how pathetic that I take that time to clean the house from top to bottom. That’s the life of a mom isn’t it? I remember one day that I took the day off from work to spend at home and what did I do? I cleaned the dishwasher. It was an all morning thing and one of the most disgusting things I’ve ever seen. Now, I’m really getting off topic.

Last Wednesday during my Thanksgiving preparations I felt that I needed another side dish and started flipping through the vegetables section of my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook. I narrowed it down to two recipes, Parsnip Puff or Sweet Potato Swirls. I went with the sweet potatoes because I thought it would be more universally appealing and I could prepare it in advance. Somehow I got the names of the recipes mixed up and called them Sweet Potato Puffs when they were served. In my opinion my guests were delighted with this fun side dish. It would also be great to serve as an appetizer.

Sweet Potato Puffs

(adapted from Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook)

  • 6 medium sweet potatoes or yams (2 pounds)
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 2 Tbsp milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tbsp butter, melted
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • salt & pepper to taste

Peel and quarter potatoes. Cook potatoes, covered, in a small amount of boiling water for 25 to 35 minutes or till tender; drain.

Mash potatoes with a potato masher or beat with an electric mixer on low speed. Beat in the 1/4 cup butter. Add salt and pepper to taste. Stir in the cayenne pepper then beat in the milk to make the potato mixture fluffy. Cool slightly. Beat eggs into the cooled mixture. Using a pastry bag (or gallon-sized zip-top bag with a corner snipped off) with no tip or the largest star tip that you have, pipe potatoes into small mounds on two well-greased baking sheets.

To bake, drizzle the potato mounds with the melted butter. Bake in a 350 degree F oven about 20 minutes or until lightly browned.

To make ahead cover with plastic unbaked mounds with plastic wrap and freeze up to one month. When ready to bake, discard plastic wrap and bake as directed above.

I rate this recipe  5 stars for it’s simplicity and for my guests reactions. Am I being immodest when I say they loved them? I am definitely making these again. You could even do this with leftovers.