chocolate chip oatmeal cookies

I’m a big fan of King Arthur Flour so when I noticed this recipe in the KAF catalog with a headline of “2015 Recipe of the Year” I knew that I had to bake these cookies. My first batch was baked specifically to welcome a new family to our neighborhood. Their reaction was positive.

I received a text message that said, “These are the best cookies that I’ve ever eaten!”

My family also loved this recipe but they suggested less chocolate for the next time. My version cuts down on the volume of chocolate and the cookies are still fantastic.

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg + 1 large egg yolk, room temperature
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 2 cups semisweet mini chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325° F. Prepare a baking sheet with non-stick spray or line with parchment or a Silpat.

In a large bowl,  beat together butter and sugars. Add eggs and vanilla and stir to combine. Add dry ingredients to another bowl and stir together then add to the butter/sugar mixture. Stir until fully combined. Stir in chocolate chips until distributed evenly.  Using two teaspoons (one to scoop and one to scrape), spoon cookie batter onto the prepared baking sheet leaving a little over 1-inch between cookies.

Bake for 12 to 15 minutes until cookies are golden. Remove from oven and cool on the baking sheet for several minutes before transferring to racks to cool completely.

chocolate chip oatmeal cookies 2 chocolate chip oatmeal cookies 3 chocolate chip oatmeal cookies 1

This recipe has quickly become my go-to recipe for chocolate chip cookies. The oatmeal adds a wholesome, chewy texture that everyone seems to love. My kids normally do not eat oatmeal cookies but I certainly can’t say that anymore.