Since my Fresh Peas with Mint were so delicious I decided to continue making some more recipes with peas.  This recipe jumped out at me from the May 2008 issue of Everyday Food. I even had picked up a bunch of sugar snap peas from the farm stand on a whim and had all the necessary ingredients already. I love when that happens. Unfortunately no one in the family tried this out. My son was rather interested in the purple onions though. He liked the color of them. Yesterday morning he was snacking on some peanut butter crackers and was trying to convince his sister (who hates peanut butter) to try them. He said to her “Try them you might like it” and I was so proud. They are starting to get it.

Rinse the peas to remove any dirt.

Raw Snap Pea Salad (from Everyday Food)

  • 1 lb trimmed sugar snap peas (strings removed if necessary), sliced 1/4 inch thick on the diagonal
  • 1 cup finely chopped red onion
  • 3 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • coarse salt and ground pepper (to taste)

Combine all ingredients in a bowl. Let stand, tossing occasionally, 10 minutes. Serves 4.

Your sliced peas will look like this.

Sweet and tangy deliciousness! This was a great fresh recipe.

