I will find any excuse to bake macarons. It’s starting to become a small problem because I haven’t quite figured out what to do with the leftover egg yolks after making so many batches. From all the different blog posts out there about tips and tricks for perfect macarons I can’t remember anyone mentioning the addictive nature of these funny little French pastries. So I’m telling you now… I am addicted to baking macarons.  Mac Tweets is only one excuse for baking macs. Thankfully I’m not the only one enamored with them allowing me to indulge in a few while the majority are eaten by my kids.

Mac Tweets Mac Attack for April is all about chocolate. Once I read about the challenge I could not get the idea of chocolate marbled macarons out of my head.

Basically, I whipped up a basic almond macaron recipe and mixed half the batter with 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder. Then I alternately the two batters in the pastry bag before piping them on the baking sheets.

Pretty right? Unfortunately, these didn’t turn out like what I pictured in my head. There were eight shells in the batch that did not crack and developed feet the correct way. I must emphasize that less than perfect does not mean less than delicious. Also, the color after being baked did not have the same lovely contrast in the unbaked versions.

None of these went to waste. My daughter has been taking macarons in her lunch for school every day. These were the 3rd favorite of the flavors that I’ve made so far with Basic Almond being her top and Blueberry Ginger her second.