If I had realized how easy these were I would have started making Fried Green Tomatoes years ago. After a harried evening which included tears on my part and a very late dinner because I decided that dinner could not be started until all the dishes that were piled on the counter were clean. My husband came home and took one look at me and said “you look cranky” and the answer was YES, yes I was cranky. Part of it was my own stupid fault… I had the great idea that the litter box for the cat should have the lid put on it. Our cat gave her feedback on that decision by leaving a big pile on the basement floor next to the litter box. Nothing can ruin a day like finding that. Add a couple of uncooperative kids to that and you’ve got a cranky me.

Back to the Fried Green Tomatoes… dinner that night was Janna’s Chicken, which was a lucky thing because I can make that recipe with my eyes closed (not really but you get what I mean). So I had husband work on making rice pilaf while I finished up the dishes and then put the chicken together and got that into the  oven. I stared at the plate with the left over cornmeal coating for the chicken and decided right then and there that Fried Green Tomatoes would be my way to cheer up for the evening. I tell you it worked. These turned out to be quite delicious and I added a Basil Parsley Yogurt sauce to top it off which made it even better. I made this again for myself for lunch on Saturday. So simple and quick. Nobody else in the house tried it but I didn’t care that night because I wanted it all to myself. I suppose sometimes you just need something that you don’t share with anyone.

This recipe makes just one serving but can easily be adjusted to serve more.

Fried Green Tomatoes with Basil Parsley Yogurt Sauce

  • Garden fresh green tomato (medium size)
  • 3 Tbsp cornmeal
  • 3 Tbsp flour
  • dash salt
  • dash onion powder
  • dash black pepper
  • 1 tsp sesame seeds
  • dash cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 cup plain yogurt
  • 4 large fresh basil leaves, chopped
  • 1 spring fresh parsley, chopped
  • canola oil, for frying

Combined the yogurt, basil and parsley in a small bowl and set aside. Measure all the other dry ingredients onto a plate and mix together with a fork.

Slice the tomato into 1/4-inch slices. Heat the oil in a frying pan over medium heat. You’ll want enough oil to reach halfway up the side of the tomato slices.

Coat the tomato slices with the corn meal mixture.

Fry the tomatoes in the oil until golden brown, about 4 minutes each side.

Drain on paper towels to absorb the excess oil.

Arrange on a plate and top with the yogurt sauce.

Season with coarse salt to taste. I used Trader Joe’s Himalayan Pink Salt Crystals (a great deal at $4 for some fancy salt).